lloyd2earth

Observations & Perspectives

No room for hate IN love

Hate is a really strong word. Strong dislike, detest, can’t stand, etc… It is what it is. Bad.

I used to say, “I hate people that do…such and such”…

Since becoming a follower of Christ, I’ve learned to say, “I hate… such and such … that people do”. You know, hate the sin, not the sinner. That may be a step in the right direction, but if not careful, it can be a weak caveat from learning to love….really love, like God loves us.

I’m learning (and struggling with) not hating at all. As I pray for God to work with me on this, I’m finding out the vast difference in what I thought love was, versus, what His idea of real Love, IS.

No one said that being a Christian was going to be easy. But real love frees us from debilitating resentment and life-draining bitterness. Not easy, but way more peaceful and satisfying.

Our Father and Creator’s idea – strike that – His embodiment of love is perfect. Pure. Holy. That much I know. Because He doesn’t hate me; He has always loved me. Wow.

My life is living proof of His grace and an ongoing example of His patient and faithful love for me.

I want to be like Him. With His gracious gift of prayer and my faithful obedience, I can be. I will be.

1 John 4:7-8 Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love.

2 comments on “No room for hate IN love

  1. thesleepwalkerswife
    August 7, 2012

    It’s hard to love like God loves us! This struggle becomes even more obvious to me in the little things; like when someone cuts me off. My first reaction? Not to bless, or forgive or love, but mutter angrily under my breath.
    God is Love.
    This makes me think of a book that I just started called “Loved by God” By R.C. Sproul. Can’t say much now; only a few pages in, but perhaps you might find it interesting too!

  2. lloyd2earth
    August 7, 2012

    thesleepwalkerswife: Please keep me up to date with your thoughts on ‘Loved by God’ … Thanks for reading and for the heads up on the book 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .